deguns.net          has a Shopper Approved rating of            5/5       based on 25 ratings and reviews        
Home > Blog > Gun Purchasing Laws in Nebraska

Gun Purchasing Laws in Nebraska

Gun Purchasing Laws in NebraskaIn the United States of America, the People of the country have the right to keep and bear arms—the second amendment of the U.S. Constitution tells us so. But this doesn’t mean every person in the United States can just have a gun. How a person in the U.S. gets his or her hands on firearms legally depends on federal firearm laws and individual state gun laws.

The Difference Between Federal and State Firearm Laws

Federal firearm laws in the United States apply to all 50 states, Washington D.C. and all U.S. territories. One example of a federal firearm in the U.S. is the Federal Firearms Act of 1938. This law states that any manufacturer, importer, or person involved in the selling of firearms must have a Federal Firearms License (FFL).

In addition to federal firearm laws, individual states and U.S. territories have their own gun laws. And, so you’re aware, firearm owners are subject to the firearm laws of the states they are in, not exclusively the state they reside in.

Gun Laws in Nebraska

In the state of Nebraska, firearm laws vary depending on the type of gun a person is looking to purchase. For example, a person trying to buy a gun in Nebraska does not need a permit to purchase or carry a rifle or shotgun; however, permits are required to buy and carry handguns. Furthermore, it is not mandatory for gun owners in Nebraska to register their guns or have licenses to own firearms.

The only firearm permit that is mandatory by state law in the state of Nebraska is for carrying and concealment purposes.

Buying Firearms in Nebraska

To buy a handgun in Nebraska, a certificate is required to validate the purchase. This certificate, which is referred to as a Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP), is different from standard firearm permits because it takes 3 days to process, instead of 30, and it does not require a safety or weapons training course in order to obtain it.

The first step in buying a handgun in Nebraska is to apply for a CHP. Upon submission of the application, a criminal history check for the applicant will be conducted immediately. To be approved for a CHP, applicants must be 21 years or older and cannot, under Federal Law, be prohibited from possessing firearms. Applicants for a CHP must be residents of the state of Nebraska and are required to submit 2 sets of fingerprints, pass a number of eye exams, and pay a few fees.

CHPs can be obtained from a local chief of police or sheriff.

Gun Laws For Gun Dealers in Nebraska

In accordance with the Federal Firearms Act of 1938, all sellers of firearms in Nebraska are required to have a Federal Firearms License (FFL). It is the responsibility of gun dealers to verify that no law (federal, state, or local) prohibits buyers from purchasing firearms.

Dealers are also required to do the following:

1. Check buyers’ government-issued photo identification cards

2. Have buyers complete and sign firearm transaction record form (Form 4473)

3. Contact the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS)

Buy a Gun in Lincoln, Nebraska from DEGuns

DEGuns supplies a wide selection of handguns, shotguns, rifles, and firearm accessories. Check out our selection today by stopping into our store in Lincoln, Nebraska or visit our website.

If you have questions and would like to talk with a member of our staff, then give us a call at 402-875-6500. We’d be happy to discuss our selection of firearms or any questions customers might have concerning gun purchasing laws in Nebraska.